Call for Proposals: Keeping History Alive – Society of Ohio Archivists 2017 Annual Meeting

The 2017 Society of Ohio Archivists’ Annual meeting–Keeping History Alive–will be held Friday, May 19 at the Quest Business and Conference Center, 8405 Pulsar Place, Columbus, OH 43240. Kathleen Williams, Executive Director of the National Historical Publications and Records Commission (NHPRC) will be the Plenary Speaker.

Deadline to submit proposals: Monday, January 9, 2017, 5pm.

The SOA 2017 Program Committee seeks a broad array of creative proposals, sessions and posters, related to archival work today and into the future. All proposal topics are welcome.

Possible ideas include, but are not limited to:

  • Tools for archival discovery, maintenance, and/or marketing
  • Outreach and instruction efforts
  • Student, intern, and volunteer experiences and projects
  • Funding for archival projects or archival facilities
  • Unique collection development ventures
  • Preservation, description, and access to analog, born-digital, or hybrid collections

The Program Committee encourages proposals of panel sessions, student and professional posters, as well as alternative formats such as debate, fish bowl, lightning, mini-workshops, pecha kucha, world café, and other session formats that encourage interaction between presenters and attendees.

The Program Committee also encourages proposals from students*, new professionals*, first time presenters and attendees, as well as individuals from related professions, including those from outside of Ohio.

Proposals must include:

  • Session/Poster title and type
  • Abstract of 250 words describing the session/poster and how it will be of interest to SOA attendees
  • Description of 150 words for the printed program
  • Main contact’s information and any other participants
  • A/V or technology requirements
  • Any additional special needs

Please complete the proposal form by Monday, January 9, 2017, 5pm at

More meeting details will appear as they develop at

Questions? Please contact:

Janet Carleton ([email protected]) or Collette McDonough ([email protected])

Cochairs, Society of Ohio Archivists Educational Programming Committee

*Separate from the Call for Proposals, SOA is pleased to announce four scholarships available to students (2 awards), and new archival professionals (2 awards) with three years or less experience in the workplace to attend the annual meeting.

The scholarship consists of conference registration (including lunch), a one-year membership to SOA, and a $100 travel stipend. Awardees are required to write about their experience for publication in the Ohio Archivist newsletter.

Applications should include the following information:

  •    Applicant’s name, mailing and e-mail address;
  •    Students should list their school’s name and academic program;
  •    New professionals should list their employer and number of years working within the field;
  •    Description about how the meeting will benefit the applicant professionally;
  •    Brief description of the applicant’s scholarship and contribution to archives. This will be taken into consideration along with the applicant’s number of years in the field or academic study;
  •    Statement of the applicant’s need for financial support to attend the conference;
  •    Applications are due by February 15, 2017.

Applications and inquiries can be sent via e-mail or mail to: Devhra BennettJones, [email protected], Lloyd Library, 917 Plum St, Cincinnati, OH 45202.

OHRAB 2016 Achievement Award presented to Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Library and Archives

OHRAB 2016 Achievement Award presented to Greene County Records Center and Archives

Representatives of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Library and Archives receive one of two 2016 Achievement Awards from the Ohio Historical Records Advisory Board (OHRAB). Pictured are Director of Archives Jennie Thomas; Senior Director of Library and Archives Andy Leach; and OHRAB Board Member Meghan Hays (Shaker Heights Public Library).

OHRAB 2016 Achievement Award presented to Greene County Records Center and Archives

Presentation of 2016 OHRAB Achievement Award to Greene County Records Center adn Archives

Representatives of Greene County receive one of the two 2016 Achievement Awards from the Ohio Historical Records Advisory Board (OHRAB). Pictured are Commissioner Bob Glaser, Public Outreach Coordinator Elise Kelly, Archival Assistant Joan Donovan, OHRAB Board Member Galen Wilson (National Archives), Records Manager & Archivist Robin Heise (holding plaque), Commissioner Tom Koogler, OHRAB Board Member Dawne Dewey (Wright State University, Special Collections & Archives), Graduate Intern Erix Infante (Wright State University – Public History), Commissioner Alan Anderson.